Monday, 27 October 2014

Review: Whisper the Dead (Hint, I love this book.)

Whisper the Dead
Publication Date: October 9th 2014        
Publisher: Bloomsbury Childrens
~A copy was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review~

Gretchen is struggling with her newfound gift as a Whisperer; the constant buzzing in her ears from detecting spells is more frustrating than fun, especially when she is spending time with one of the Order of Iron Nail's Keepers, the icy but strikingly handsome Tobias Lawless. But while Gretchen tries to hide the truth and resolve her feelings for him, London fades from beautiful and bustling to deathly silent ...Something evil is once again menacing Mayfair, and Gretchen and her cousins must use their powers to prevent a horrible sacrifice.

This second book in the Lovegrove Legacy trilogy is full of dark twists, spellbinding suspense and sweeping romance - perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare, Lauren Kate and Ruth Warburton.

As of A Breath of Frost, Whisper the Dead gave me the same feeling as it's predecessor gave me , while I absolutely adored it, I still have a few minor issues. With A Breath of Frost it took me a while to get into because of the large cast and side characters, the out of order perspective changes and such big personalities to contend with. Being familiar with the world now and the fun and outlandish characters that are out of style with the Regency Period, I had no problem getting back into it, and this time around, focusing more on Gretchen, who obviously now is was my favourite. She's so...Gretchen.