Friday, 19 September 2014

Review: Kiss of Broken Glass

Kiss of Broken Glass
Publication Date: September 9th 2014        
Publisher: HarperTeen
~A copy was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review~

Madeleine Kuderick’s gripping debut is a darkly beautiful and lyrical novel in verse, perfect for fans of Sonya Sones and Laurie Halse Anderson. Kiss of Broken Glass pulses with emotion and lingers long after the last page.
In the next seventy-two hours, Kenna may lose everything—her friends, her freedom, and maybe even herself. One kiss of the blade was all it took to get her sent to the psych ward for seventy-two hours. There she will face her addiction to cutting, though the outcome is far from certain.

When fifteen-year-old Kenna is found cutting herself in the school bathroom, she is sent to a facility for mandatory psychiatric watch. There, Kenna meets other kids like her—her roommate, Donya, who’s there for her fifth time; the birdlike Skylar; and Jag, a boy cute enough to make her forget her problems . . . for a moment

Kiss of Broken Glass is going to be one of those books you either love or hate- not because of the serious issues- cutting the main one, and meeting some other characters who have other addictions- but because of the format. I can't say I loved the format it was written in, but I did appreciate the lyrical side to it, it's quick to read and addicting in itself because it's beautiful.