Monday, 21 April 2014

Review: Sleep No More

Sleep No More

Publication Date: April 29th 2014        
~A copy was provided by HarperTeen  and Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review~

The blockbuster film Inception meets Lisa McMann's Wake trilogy in this dark paranormal thriller from #1 New York Times bestselling author Aprilynne Pike. This novel is also perfect for fans of Kelley Armstrong, Alyson Noel, and Kimberly Derting.

Charlotte Westing has a gift. She is an Oracle and has the ability to tell the future. But it doesn't do her much good. Instead of using their miraculous power, modern-day Oracles are told to fight their visions—to refrain from interfering. And Charlotte knows the price of breaking the rules. She sees it every day in her wheelchair-bound mother and the absence of her father. But when a premonition of a classmate's death is too strong for her to ignore, Charlotte is forced to make an impossible decision: continue following the rules or risk everything—even her sanity—to stop the serial killer who is stalking her town.


My head did not sign up for this. I probably won't even rate it until I finish this review, whereas I normally know around the 3/4 what rating it's going to be.
I'm not sure where to start, hell, I'm not sure if this is a positive or negative review right now, but I'll start with something simple. Sleep No More. Quite accurate. I'd never want to sleep again either. Now, this lovely comes from Goodreads, " Lisa McMann's Wake trilogy meets the blockbuster Inception" In a way, okay. But in five words? Hell to the fucking no. It's so misleading, because this is powerful and more personal than anything and that makes it sound like it's this epic rollercoaster ride.